Mondegreen / It’s a hard day to come

Where are you now my young little boy. You was to be a doctor, you was to preach the gospel. You was to be my soldier, you was to care for mother. 

You was to go to college. You was to build a steel bridge. 

Where are you now my simple young boy. You wanted to run, who made your heart break. You wanted to cry, who shamed you for weeping. Is it a hard, is it a long, is it a damned day. Is it a day that’s supposed to come?

Where are you now my young little boy. These walls, these ears, these tales from yonder. This greed, the fear, and shame of knowing. Am I the one, am I the one who sees tomorrow. Is it a hard, is it a long, is it a damned day. Is it a day that’s supposed to come?

I was the man, I was hurt with no money
I was the man, I was turned to gold
I was the man too wise to grow up
Is it a hard, is it a long, is it a damned day. Is there a day supposed to come?

Forgetting will take our old hearts. Melancholy will take our home,
Where are you now my young little boy, don’t break the mirrors and forget your face.
It’s a hard, it’s a long, it’s a damned day. But there is a day supposed to come.

*Listening to Bob Dylan

Leave a comment